Home

 

 
The research and art project „Wearable Theatre. The Art of Immersive Storytelling“ conducted by the St. Pölten UAS is investigating “Virtual Reality” (VR) for its dramatic, narrative und structural potential. An interdisciplinary team is exploring the connections between

art and technology

immersion and empathy

virtual reality and literature

over a period of three years by means of an experimental research lab. The aim is to make the 360° VR medium accessible and utilizable as an experiential form for literary material. Existential atmospheric first-person narrative works have been chosen as the initiating point of the research. The perspectives of the selected narratives are combined with aesthetic variables, utilizing the visual, acoustic and atmospheric potential of 360° VR.
 
The project leaders are Markus Wintersberger (St. Pölten UAS, Research Group Media Creation) and Marcus Josef Weiss (Open Acting Academy – Conservatory for Acting Vienna).
 

THE EXPERIMENTAL MEDIA-LAB “WEARABLE THEATRE”…

… can be understood to be an innovative think-tank and conceptual space for action. It conducts artistic research in a complex, multifaceted amalgam of different disciplines, challenges conventions in media perception, and deliberately renounces content driven production processes.

 

 


ONLINE PLATFORMS

instagram.com padlet.com pinterest.at soundcloud.com vimeo.com youtube.com

Home

 

 
Das Forschungs- und Kunstprojekt „Wearable Theatre. The Art of Immersive Storytelling“ der Fachhochschule St. Pölten untersucht „Virtual Reality“ (VR) auf ihr dramatisches, narratives und strukturelles Potential. Ein interdisziplinäres Team erforscht in diesem dreijährig angelegten Forschungslabor die Zusammenhänge zwischen

Kunst und Technologie

Immersion und Empathie

virtueller Realität und Literatur

Ziel ist das Erschließen und Nutzen des 360°-VR-Mediums als Erlebnisform für literarische Stoffe. Als Ausgangspunkt der Untersuchungen werden Autoren mit existenziell atmosphärischem Erzählton ausgewählt. Die Erzählperspektiven der literarischen Sequenzen werden mit den ästhetischen Variablen kombiniert, mit dem Ziel, die visuellen, akustischen und atmosphärischen Möglichkeiten von 360°-VR in ihrem vollen Potential dramatisch zu nutzen.

Geleitet wird das Projekt von Markus Wintersberger (FH St. Pölten, Forschungsgruppe Media Creation) und Marcus Josef Weiss (Open Acting Academy – Konservatorium für Schauspiel in Wien).

 
DAS EXPERIMENTELLE MEDIENLABOR „WEARABLE THEATRE“…

… versteht sich als innovatorischer Denk- und Aktionsraum. Es betreibt künstlerische Forschung in einem facettenreichen Komplex unterschiedlicher Disziplinen, stellt Konventionen der Medienrezeption in Frage und verzichtet bewusst auf contentgesteuerte Produktionsprozesse.
 
 


ONLINE PLATTFORMEN

instagram.com padlet.com pinterest.at soundcloud.com vimeo.com youtube.com